Showing posts with label poll. Show all posts
Showing posts with label poll. Show all posts

Sunday, May 17, 2009

Poll #19 results

The results for the nineteenth World 1-1 poll are as follows:

Are you excited for the Pokemon Gold/Silver remakes? (16 total votes)
  • I'm super excited for the games! - 43% (7 votes)
  • I'm interested in them - 13% (2 votes)
  • I'm indifferent - 6% (1 vote)
  • Meh... don't really want - 13% (2 votes)
  • What?! More Pokemon games? More remakes? Pass. - 25% (4 votes)
More than half of the voters were either excited for the Gold/Silver remakes or at least interested in them. I'm actually really looking forward to SoulSilver (the one I'm getting). Having skipped out on the fourth generation of Pokemon games (Diamond/Pearl/Platinum), I'd forgotten how much I loved the games. I picked back up Pokemon Sapphire for the GBA a few days ago and it's been pretty much all I've been playing (along with a few matches of NES Punch-Out!! to prepare for the Wii game and to hopefully get a review up tomorrow). The games usually start off a bit slow, but then it's on to none stop addictiveness.

Disappointing news stories going around various Nintendo news sites like GoNintendo are on the sales of certain games. Many hardcore titles on Nintendo platforms, such as MadWorld and GTA: Chinatown Wars haven't sold what people would consider successful. According to GoNintendo and NPD, Nintendo's latest first-party title Excitebots only sold a paltry 13,000 in April. The advertising, or lack there of, on Nintendo's part or people seeming to have enough of Wii racing with Mario Kart and Excite Truck could be sources of the problem. Nintendo's next big game, Punch-Out!! for the Wii launches tomorrow, May 18th, and one can wonder how good that one'll sell. Which is my next poll question, "How well do you think Punch-Out!! will sell on the Wii?"

Sunday, May 10, 2009

Poll #18 results

Poll 18 has concluded. We're almost at the twentieth poll! The results of the latest World 1-1 poll are as follows:

Which Nintendo franchise would you love to appear on the Wii the most? (21 total votes)
  • Donkey Kong - 4% (1 vote)
  • Kirby - 23% (5 votes)
  • Pikmin - 19% (4 votes)
  • Starfox - 23% (5 votes)
  • Other - 28% (6 votes)
When your "Other" option is the most voted, you know you should've included more/different choices. As was the case here. A few days after putting up the poll I realized I'd forgotten some big name Nintendo franchises. Namely stuff like F-Zero and Pilotwings. On the other side of the scale was Donkey Kong with a single vote. I voted for Pikmin myself. I loved the "New Play Control" version of Pikmin and am looking forward to playing some Pikmin built from the ground up for the Wii.

Just recently remakes of the second generation of Pokemon games were announced, titled Pokemon Heart Gold and Soul Silver. This gives Pokefreaks and retired veterans of the series (like me) something to be excited for. But are YOU excited for the game? That's why this weeks poll is: "Are you excited for the Pokemon Gold/Silver remakes?"

Sunday, May 3, 2009

Poll #17 results

I'm really liking doing these weekly polls. I might not get as many votes as when I did it twice a month (usually about half), but it's nice to have a solid schedule of doing it every Sunday. The results of my 17th poll are below.

How many hours a week would you say you spend playing video games? (23 total votes)
  • Less than 5 hours - 26% (6 votes)
  • 5 to 9 hours - 30% (7 votes)
  • 10 to 19 hours - 34% (8 votes)
  • 20 to 29 hours - 4% (2 votes)
  • 30+ hours - 0% (0 votes)
The popular choice here was anywhere from 10 to 19 hours a week of playtime. Following that was , 5 to 9, with 30% of votes. It seems nobody voted for 30 hours or more. Guess most people don't have that much time. I voted for "10 to 19 hours." I play a decent amount of games, even staying up late a lot of the time. But I don't play a lot during the week, saving most of my playtime for weekends when I have a lot more free time.

As usual there is another poll up. The Wii's already seen a large number of Nintendo's franchises. We've had both a Super Mario game and a Legend of Zelda game. We've had Mario Kart, Wario (Land and -Ware), Super Smash Bros., the Excite franchise, Paper Mario, Metroid, and Fire Emblem all on Nintendo's latest console. Punch-Out!! coming this may marks another favorite franchise appearing on the Wii. But not all of Nintendo's hit series have had a Wii iteration. What about Starfox? Or Kirby? This week's poll question is, "Which Nintendo franchise would you love to appear on the Wii the most?"

Sunday, April 26, 2009

Poll #16 results

Be sure to check out the newly crafted World 1-1 Review Archive on the right sidebar to catch up on any World 1-1 reviews you may have missed. (I got/stole the idea from SuperPhillip Central and Everyview.)

Unfortunately, much like the previous poll, Poll #16 had few votes (at least compared to earlier World 1-1 polls). The results are as follows...

How do you like your sports games? (16 total votes)
  • Arcadey - 31% (5 votes)
  • Realistic - 12% (2 votes)
  • Like them both - 37% (6 votes)
  • I don't play sports games - 18% (3 votes)
Even with very few votes, the voting choices are all very close in the end results. The vote for liking both arcadey and realistic sports games won by one vote count over primarily arcadey. The option, "Realistic", came in last barely earning less votes than "I don't play sports games".

I voted for the first choice, as I prefer arcadey sports titles (like Punch-Out!!) over realistic sports sims. While I've played some sports games like Madden and MLB games at friend's houses, I never really enjoy them. But I do love games like the Mario Kart, they're just a lot more "fun" in my eyes as they strive for you to be entertained rather than be accurate represent the sports.

Poll #17 is up as well. Chances are a lot of you play quite a bit of video games; this is a video game blog after all. But just how much do you actually play? Some of us have work and school to have to deal with, while others have a lot more free time to play all the video games they want. My poll question this week is "How many hours a week would you say you spend playing video games?"

Sunday, April 19, 2009

Poll #15 results

First let me apologize for my absence from World 1-1 for the past two weeks and for the lateness of this post. Due to some things to deal with in the "real world" and a mild case of writer's block for your's truly, I just didn't have the enthusiasm to post. Let's hope all that's over and I can get back to my regular two, three, four, or more posts a week (OK, so not that regular) schedule.

First I'd like to announce bit of a change in the polls: now they're going to be weekly, rather than bimonthly. This gives me the chance to have a lot more polls and free up a day each week to post results. Speaking of which, there will be a "poll results" post and a new poll alway up on Saturday (except for this one), usually somewhere around 4:00 Pacific Time. And now to your regularly scheduled poll results...

Poll number fifteen has concluded with a fairly small total vote count (as probably due to lack of posting lately). Here's the results to said poll:

Do you read gaming magazines? (17 total votes)
  • Yes, I subscribe to one or more - 58% (10 votes)
  • Yes, I buy issues occasionally - 29% (5 votes)
  • No, I don't read them - 11% (2 votes)
Without a lot of votes it's not entirely accurate to say which choice was the most popular. But I think it's pretty safe to say the first, the subscription choice, is the most popular as it garnered almost 60% of the votes. Coming in second was 29% for buying issues occasionally. And finally, last (and least) was two votes from people who don't read gaming magazines at all.

I voted for the first choice as I subscribe to two magazines, Game Informer and Nintendo Power. As I've said before, I really am loving my subscription to Nintendo Power and each month I'm treated with great previews and lots of nice screens and reviews. As for GI, I really like the magazine too, albeit the sometimes lack of Nintendo content. It has a lot of great gaming articles to read and always scores on big exclusive cover stories.

Once again, there's a brand spankin' new poll up. Sports are one of the popular genres of video games. Whether it's realistic sports simulations like Madden and Tiger Woods or arcadey and hectic games like Punch-Out!! and the Mario sports games, sports titles cater to a large audience. But it's my question to you, "How do you like your sports games?" Arcadey? Or realistic?

Comments or questions? Drop an email to kylehogg@gmail.com or leave a comment below...

Tuesday, March 31, 2009

Poll #14 results

Poll #14 has concluded and the results are in...

Which New Play Control! games have you gotten or are planning on getting? (40 total votes)
  • Chibi-Robo - 47% (19 votes)
  • Donkey Kong Jungle Beat - 20% (8 votes)
  • Mario Power Tennis - 12% (5 votes)
  • Metroid Prime - 57% (23 votes)
  • Metroid Prime 2: Echoes - 50% (20 votes)
  • Pikmin - 47% (19 votes)
  • Pikmin 2 - 65% (26 votes)
Note: Voters could vote for more than one, which explains why the percentages don't add up to 100.

As you can see from the above results, both of the Pikmin games and both of the Metroid Prime games are the most popular. Pikmin 2 is the most popular of them all, while the original Metroid Prime comes in second. On the opposite end of the spectrum are Jungle Beat and Mario Power Tennis, coming in second to last and last respectively. I'm willing to bet that the reason Mario Power Tennis is so low is because the game is already out and wasn't received well by critics. As for Donkey Kong Jungle Beat? I'm guessing people aren't up for the change from bongo controls to analog stick and buttons.

I voted much like the majority of voters, for both Pikmins and both Metroid Primes. I loved both Metroid Prime 3 and the New Play Control! version of Pikmin, so I'm really looking forward to both Pikmin 2 and the prequels to Corruption.

And last but not least, there's, once again, a new poll up. Other than word of mouth, gaming magazines used to be one of the top resources for game news/previews/reviews back before the days of the internet. But today, various websites and blogs provides a much faster way to get gaming news and reviews. Even so, there still are a good number of game magazines available today. My question this time around is, "Do you read gaming magazines?"

Comments or questions? Drop an email to kylehogg@gmail.com or leave a comment below...

Monday, March 16, 2009

Poll #13 results

Thirteenth poll is finished. The results for this one are as follows:

Which Nintendo console was your first? (51 votes)
  • NES - 47% (24 votes)
  • SNES - 11% (6 votes)
  • Nintendo 64 - 23% (12 votes)
  • Nintendo GameCube - 5% (3 votes)
  • Wii - 11% (6 votes)
  • I've never owned a Nintendo console - 0% (0 votes)
Not surprisingly, most voters started out their Nintendo console playing on the original Nintendo Entertainment System. Up next was the N64 with 23% of the votes. And coming in at a solid third was a tie between the Super NES and the Wii.

And as usual, there's a new poll up as well. Just last Monday, Nintendo released the first two games in their GameCube Wii-make series, New Play Control!, Pikmin and Mario Power Tennis. In Japan, a number more have already been released such as Metroid Prime and Donkey Kong Jungle Beat. My question to you is, "Which New Play Control! games have you gotten or are planning on getting?" (out of the announced ones of course).

Comments or questions? Drop an email to kylehogg@gmail.com or leave a comment below...

Saturday, February 28, 2009

Poll #12 results

My twelfth poll is over and done. The results are as follows:

On a scale of 1 to 5, what do you think of World 1-1? (22 votes)
  • 5 - Awesome blog, great work. - 18% (4 votes)
  • 4 - Pretty good blog, nice work. - 59% (13 votes)
  • 3 - Average blog, nothing special. - 13% (3 votes)
  • 2 - Bad blog, needs work. - 0% (0 votes)
  • 1 - Horrible blog. - 9% (2 votes)
It's nice to know most people like my blog. 4 out of 5 was the most popular choice. While only 9% of people voted unfavorably. And a shout out to those voters: constructive criticism is more than welcome. Why'd you vote that way? I'd love to know.

And now for the next poll. No doubt you've all owned a Nintendo system, most likely more than one. This is a Nintendo blog, so I'm expecting a lot of readers to have Nintendo consoles and handhelds. But where did it all start for you? Maybe it was back in the NES or SNES days? Or maybe you're a more recent Nintendo fan, with the Nintendo 64, GameCube, or even Wii being your first Nintendo console. That's why the latest poll's up, and the question is, "Which Nintendo console was your first?"

Comments or questions? Drop an email to kylehogg@gmail.com or leave a comment below...

Sunday, February 15, 2009

Poll #11: "In the Legend of Zelda games, what do you name your character?" results


The results for Poll #11 are as follows:

In the Legend of Zelda games, what do you name your character? (37 total votes)
  • Link - 48% (18 votes)
  • My name - 24% (9 votes)
  • Other/random name - 24% (9 votes)
  • I don't know - 2% (1 vote)
Most people choose "Link" as they're character's name in LoZ games, as is evident from said choice getting almost 50% of the votes. Following that, it was a tie between people choosing their own name and a different, random name. And bringing up the rear is a single person who doesn't know. Why the person doesn't know is something we'll never know.

I almost always put in my own name at the save slot creation screen, though occasionally I'll choose Link. I can see why more people choose Link, since it goes with the overall story a bit more, and it's supposed to be his actual name.

And finally, we come to the newest poll. I'm pretty sure I've got a few regular readers as is evident from comments and the several people that follow my blog, and I know I get new readers every once and a while from links via other blogs and GoNintendo. And since I've come this far and have been blogging for this long, I have to wonder, what do you think of my blog? Love it? Hate it? I really want to know, which is why I've put up the latest poll, "On a scale of 1 to 5, what do you think of World 1-1?" And if you're not that fond of my blog, please let your voice be heard. Any constructive criticism is more than welcome.

Comments or questions? Drop an email to kylehogg@gmail.com or leave a comment below...

Saturday, January 31, 2009

Poll #10: "So far, which year was the Wii's best?" results


The results for Poll NĂºmero Diez are in:

So far, which year was the Wii's best? (25 total votes)
  • 2006 - 4% (1 vote)
  • 2007 - 88% (22 votes)
  • 2008 - 8% (2 votes)
As was expected 2007 was the winner for the Year of the Wii polling award. Little surprises there, as it had the best games and releases of Nintendo's greatest, including both the fantastic Metroid Prime 3 and the outstanding Super Mario Galaxy. Following 2007 (which earned 22 votes) was 2008 with 2 votes, and finally 2006 with a single vote.

For me it would go 2007 > 2008 > 2006. That's not to say 2006's lineup wasn't good, seeing as we got Twilight Princess and Wii Sports, it just wasn't that long and didn't have as many games as 2007 and 2008 (especially since it was only a month and half long for the Wii).

My eleventh poll's finally up and running. The question this time seems a bit random, it's just something I'm interested in: "In the Legend of Zelda games, what do you name your character?" So please get votin', people.

Comments or questions? Drop an email to kylehogg@gmail.com or leave a comment below...

Thursday, January 15, 2009

Poll #9: "Which system had the strongest year in 2008?" results


Poll number 9 is done. Here's the data:

Which system had the strongest year in 2008? (41 total votes)
  • Xbox 360 - 31% (13 votes)
  • Playstation 3 - 12% (5 votes)
  • Wii - 41% (17 votes)
  • Nintendo DS - 12% (5 votes)
  • PSP - 2% (1 votes)
It was a close competition between the 360 and the Wii, but Nintendo's little white box got a few more votes and earned the title of winner. Behind the Wii and 360 was a tie between the PS3 and DS. Followed then by the PSP with a measly single vote.

I was torn between the Xbox 360 and the Playstation 3. I felt the Wii's year was lacking, and even though I don't own a PS3 or 360 there were a lot of titles, particularly LittleBigPlanet, Dead Space, and Mirror's Edge, that really interest me. I also thought the Nintendo DS had a fairly good year. Much better than the Wii and PSP.

And as usual the latest poll is up and running. The poll is "So far, which year was the Wii's best?"

EDIT: For some reason either a problem with Blogger, my crappy computer, or my crappy internet is hindering my ability to put up the latest poll. At first it just wouldn't display at all and now I can't even go back and create a new poll. I'll try again tomorrow (or later tonight).

EDIT 2: Thank god it's finally up and running. I don't know if it was just my computer or if it was screwing up for everyone, but thankfully it's fixed. Now get votin'!

Comments or questions? Drop an email to kylehogg@gmail.com or leave a comment below...

Wednesday, December 31, 2008

Poll #8: "Which operating system are you using?" results


My eighth and final poll of the year has concluded and the results are in:

Which operating system are you using? (49 total votes)
  • Windows XP - 38% (19 votes)
  • Windows Vista - 36% (18 votes)
  • Mac OS X - 12% (6 votes)
  • Linux - 6% (3 votes)
  • Other - 6% (3 votes)
Windows XP and Windows Vista were neck and neck for most of the polling session. But XP pulled ahead near the end. Apple's operating system came in third with six votes, 12% of the overall. The options, Linux and Other tied for fourth with three votes each.

I was surprised there weren't more votes from Mac users. I voted for Windows XP because that's what I've been using for the longest time. And it's still working excellent. But I'm actually thinking about getting a Mac because they're really cool and super sexy. But first I've got to get the money.

After two non-game related polls, we're back to video games, and the latest poll is "Which system had the strongest year in 2008?"

Comments or questions? Drop an email to kylehogg@gmail.com or leave a comment below...

Monday, December 15, 2008

Poll #7: "Which web browser are you using?" results


My seventh poll's over and here's the results:

Which web browser are you using? (57 total votes)
  • Internet Explorer - 5% (3 votes)
  • Firefox - 66% (38 votes)
  • Safari - 8% (5 votes)
  • Opera - 8% (5 votes)
  • Google Chrome - 1% (1 vote)
  • Wii web browser - 8% (5 votes)
  • DS web browser - 0% (0 votes)
  • Other - 0% (0 votes)
Firefox got by with an easy win, accumulating two-thirds of the votes. But it's not without good reason; Firefox is my favorite web browser as it's fast, looks nice, and includes all the features I need for web browsing. I'll stop now since this is turning into something of an advertisment. Apple's Safari browser, the Opera browser, and the Wii Internet Channel (running on Opera) all tied for second with 5 votes each (8% overall).

And of course, the latest poll is up. Poll #8 is a lot like it's predecessor, except this time, the question is "Which operating system are you using?"

Comments or questions? Drop an email to kylehogg@gmail.com or leave a comment below...

Sunday, November 30, 2008

Poll #6 "Generally, what is your opinion on game delays?" results

I'm back, after my week long Thanksgiving vacation! I hope everyone else's Thanksgiving was as good and as filling as mine. I actually got back last night, but was too dead tired from traveling to post anything... Sorry! Look for my next post tomorrow. -Kyle


My sixth poll has finished, the results are as follows:

Generally, what is your opinion on game delays? (24 total votes)
  • Great, more development time to make the game better. - 50% (12 votes)
  • Horrible, I need the game now! - 12% (3 votes)
  • Meh, I'll get the game whenever it comes out. - 38% (9 votes)
It seems from the results, people don't mind delays as they generally mean more time to up the game's quality. The second most votes was by those who didn't really care about delays, they're just going to buy it whenever the hell it comes out. And finally, there's that small portion of voters who generally hate delays.

I voted the first option as I feel more time will help the game. Though there was one exception to this, Super Smash Bros. Brawl. I was angry both times the game was delayed (more the first though). I wanted that game right then! But the wait was worth it... I guess.

And as always, my next poll is up. This time it's not really video game related, I'm just curious. The question is "Which web browser are you using?" And by that I mean right now, not generally, but at this exact moment viewing this exact page.

Comments or questions? Drop an email to kylehogg@gmail.com or leave a comment below...

Saturday, November 15, 2008

Poll #5 "What Wii games are you looking forward to in 2009?" results


Poll #5's results are in...

What Wii games are you looking forward to in 2009? (43 total votes)
  • Wii Sports Resort - 46% (20 votes)
  • Punch-Out!! - 53% (23 votes)
  • Sin & Punishment 2 - 53% (23 votes)
  • MadWorld - 41% (18 votes)
  • The Conduit - 60% (26 votes)
  • Cursed Mountain - 18% (8 votes)
  • House of the Dead: Overkill - 32% (14 votes)
  • Gamecube Wii-makes - 41% (18 votes)
  • Other(s) - 25% (11 votes)
  • None of them - 6% (3 votes)
  • I don't own a Wii - 2% (1 vote)
Note: Voters could vote for more than one, which explains why the percentages don't add up to 100.

The Conduit was the winner this time around, but there were a lot of close titles too, something unseen in my previous polls. Tying for second were Punch-Out!! and Sin & Punishment 2, both with 53% of the votes and. In third was the sequal to Wii Sports, Wii Sports Resort with 46% of the votes.

I voted for pretty much every game except MadWorld and Cursed Mountain. Those two games look cool, but I haven't seen any videos or screens that totally convince me yet. If big titles like I mentioned, particularly the two Nintendo "hardcore" games (Punch-Out!! and S&P2) and The Conduit, are anything to go off of, 2009's going to rock for the Wii!

And last but not least, the latest poll is now up. This time around, the question is: "Generally, what is your opinion on game delays?"

Friday, October 31, 2008

Poll #4 "What quality do you look for in games the most?" results


My fourth poll's over and done. Here's the results...

What quality do you look for in games the most? (32 total votes)
  • Impressive/polished graphics - 3% (1 vote)
  • Great music/soundtrack - 9% (3 votes)
  • Compelling gameplay - 84% (27 votes)
  • How long it'll last you - 3% (1 vote)
Once again, there was a clear winner, a cut above the rest. This time it was "Compelling gameplay", actually the least surprising so far. Most people prefer a fun game over a graphically powerful game. Despite the several votes for graphics, music, and replay value, gameplay is the number one thing most gamers look for.

The fifth poll is up currently. This time the topic is: "What Wii games are you looking forward to in 2009?" And don't forget, you can vote for more than one!

Wednesday, October 15, 2008

Poll #3 "Which consoles do you own this generation?" results


Poll number three is over and done with. Here's the results on that one:

Which consoles do you own this generation? (75 total votes)
  • Wii only - 61% (46 votes)
  • Xbox 360 only - 1% (1 vote)
  • Playstation 3 only - 0% (0 votes)
  • Wii and 360 - 17% (13 votes)
  • Wii and PS3 - 6% (5 votes)
  • 360 and PS3 - 0% (0 votes)
  • Wii, 360, and PS3 - 10% (8 votes)
  • None of them - 2% (2 votes)
"Wii only" smoked the competition with over 60% of the votes. Not to surprising to me as I only review Nintendo system games and most people usually come here via GoNintendo.com or some other small, Nintendo-related blog. In second place was "Wii and 360". I also expected this more or less, as it seems most multi-console owning people get the Wii for Nintendo-only titles and then stick with a 360 or PS3 for the majority of other titles not found on Wii, but appearing on both HD consoles.

I voted "Wii only" of course, but I'm definitely thinking of picking up either an Xbox 360 or a Playstation 3 to get all those other great games. I just need the money!

Once again, another poll is up. This time the question is: "What quality do you look for in games the most?"

And just in case anyone's wondering. I've got four reviews scheduled. This Thursday it's Mega Man 9, this Friday is Art Style: Orbient, next Monday is Resident Evil 4, and next Friday I'll have a review of Wario Land: Shake It! up. Look forward for that...

Tuesday, September 30, 2008

Poll #2: "Which Super Smash Bros. game was your favorite?" results


My second poll's over and here's the results:

Which Super Smash Bros. game was your favorite?
  • Super Smash Bros. - 10% (4 votes)
  • Super Smash Bros. Melee - 15% (6 votes)
  • Super Smash Bros. Brawl - 75% (30 votes)
I voted for Brawl, as I'm still loving the hell out of it. But I was surprised not a lot of people voted for Melee, I know some people and hear from a lot of internet forums that they like Melee because of the more stratagies you can get going, like Wave Dashing, which I never really got into. The good news is 40 votes! W00T! A full 33 more than last time. Keep on voting guys...

And last but not least, there's a new poll: Which systems do you own this generation?

Tuesday, September 16, 2008

Poll #1 Results


My first poll's over and here's the results:

How many WiiWare games have you downloaded?
  • Quite a bit - 0% (0 votes)
  • A few, here and there - 85% (6 votes)
  • None - 15% (1 vote)
  • What's WiiWare? - 0% (0 votes)
I'm definitely in that middle range. Currently I've downloaded four WiiWare titles. But with the Strong Bad games coming out, Mega Man 9 coming soon, and World of Goo getting released sooner or later, that may change.

And finally, there's a new poll: Which Super Smash Bros. game was your favorite? So don't forget to vote!

Saturday, August 9, 2008

Poll: What current gen systems do you own?

I'm dead tired so instead of an article, how about a poll.

The poll is: What current gen systems do you own?
  • Wii only
  • Xbox 360 only
  • Playstation 3 only
  • Wii and Xbox 360
  • Wii and PS3
  • Xbox 360 and PS3
  • Wii, Xbox 360, and PS3
  • I don't own any of them
It's Wii only for me. I really need to get an Xbox 360 or PS3 though, as I'm missing out in a lot of games that sound great (e.g. Mass Effect, Bioshock, Ratchet and Clank.)

So what is it for you? Don't forget to vote! Just choose your answer and hit submit (or OK or whatever the button is!)

Poll ends 8/23/08. And it'll give me another reason to make some lame article like this!